365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

365. My top five Shakespeare plays: number 1

with 4 comments

Wow. This is the last one. The last entry of 365 Days of Shakespeare! And what a crazy year. I’m still sort of amazed that I managed to (retroactively) finish something I started, since honestly…that doesn’t happen too often. I have about six half-finished novels and four outlined plays that can testify to that. But it has been a lot of fun, and I have learned a lot. Hopefully I’ve provided some interesting tidbits and laughter along the way. Well, here is the last entry…and then on to the next project!

NUMBER 1: Hamlet

This really shouldn’t surprise anyone, and I know that there will be some eye-rolling as it is assumed that every Shakespeare fan’s favorite play is Hamlet. It isn’t. I’m actually weird in this regard – most people I talk to either love Hamlet but don’t rank it as their favorite, think it’s okay but is kind of annoying, or outright can’t stand the play. Which blows my mind. I have loved this play since I was a little girl and my mom got me the Animated Tales version, then took me to see a family friend play Horatio (my dream role since that tender young age). I love the delicate beauty of the soliloquies, the deep, harrowing look at madness, and the heartbreaking emotion of every confrontation. Hamlet is truly one of the greatest characters ever written. Call him a whiny emo kid all you want, you can’t deny the kid can craft a sentence into a work of art. Hamlet also allows for so much interpretation that it is almost impossible to see two companies perform the show exactly the same way – there is almost always at least one glaring variation. For being the first Shakespeare play I ever loved, Hamlet takes the number-one spot in my heart.

Written by Caroline Mincks

October 1, 2010 at 11:31 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Horatio as a favourite – like it!

    You’re right about Hamlet having a mixed reception – even just with me personally. I was turned off it when I entered my main English exam in my last year at school having studied H. and then found no decent question for it!!! Had to write about Macbeth instead, not having studied it for a year, and forgot the murdered King’s name in all the stress. Luckily left a space and ‘Duncan’ came to me just in time. Phew!

    That’s not the end of the story though (bear with me) – I went on to do English-system exams at college (my original ones in school were Scottish) and the lecturer announced we would do Twelfth Night. At that time this was new to me and I was excited. Some *bleep* insisted we do Hamlet. We did, I didn’t turn up to classes (though exam went fine) and I thought that was that, resolved to never touch that dithering, procrastinating bore again.

    Finally (by this point in my comment that is probably an attractive word), I had experiences at university which made me understand Hamlet so much better. It is perfectly possibly to think oneself out of action while knowing full well that action is very, very necessary. I came to understand and appreciate Hamlet, and even had Ophelia work for me when auditioning for drama school.

    There – Hamlet with a happy ending!

    Thank you for this lovely time reading your final entries: I will return for more, as earlier promised, but I must, I must, get on with other matters.

    “Now, Mars, I prithee, make us quick in work”
    (Excited about Ralph Fiennes’ upcoming Coriolanus.)

    And yes – where’s the Scottish warrior in your estimation?

    discoverfineacting

    January 5, 2011 at 6:40 PM

  2. one of the best digital texts about it, great dear!

    How Make Money

    February 1, 2011 at 2:11 PM

  3. Love your site concept, shame i saw it after you finished lol. Will you be doing anything else shakespeare related in the future?

    shakespeare love poems

    August 15, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    • I’m thinking about doing some more! Not sure yet – we’ll see. I’m pregnant now, so I probably won’t be doing any daily blogging for quite a while 🙂

      bard365

      August 16, 2011 at 9:51 PM


Leave a Reply

