365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

362. My top five Shakespeare plays: number 4

with one comment

We’re really getting down to it now. Only three entries remaining (and may I just say that I accidentally typed “thee” instead of “three”…take from that what you will)! So, you may be wondering is my personal choice for number four on my list of Shakespeare’s top five best plays…so it’s a good thing you clicked on this entry because now you get to find out!

NUMBER 4: A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I freaking love this play. I love everything about it. I love the balance of light and dark, of romance and rape, and the little girl in me cannot help but love the fairies and all their magic, not to mention the utter hilarity of the mechanicals. This is one of those plays that has so much room for interpretation, and yet every production seems to remain true to what is at the core, and it makes every viewing experience something really joyful. This play was the first of Shakespeare’s I ever performed in, as Titania, and it was a truly (pardon the expression) magical experience. The dialogue is witty, the songs are fantastic, and all of the characters are a blast to play. A Midsummer Night’s Dream takes the number four spot and leaves pixie dust in its path.

Written by Caroline Mincks

September 28, 2010 at 10:19 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great choice – I’m actually on a break ‘tween tours of this (cast of four women, so I am male throughout!). As you say, so much is possible in interpretation yet core is secure. I saw a great hip-hop version – Midsummer Night’s Madness – in the Edinburgh Fringe, 2011.

    Now – suspense, suspense – on to number three . . .

    discoverfineacting

    January 5, 2011 at 6:09 PM


Leave a Reply

