365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

315. Mr. Shakespeare’s Bastard

with one comment

All I know about this book is that it exists and the summary that I just read in this article, so I can’t say one way or the other about its quality since I haven’t read it yet. I’m willing to give it a chance, though.

In general, I’m not a huge fan of messing around with actual historical figures too much. Philippa Gregory is okay, since she bases most of her writing on at least theories of what actually happened. But when someone writes a book about Shakespeare’s illegitimate daughter and the legacy that continues, my first reaction is to sigh. It’s not to say that it isn’t a fair theory that he could have produced a child we don’t know about, but I don’t much like the idea of a book that sounds like it should be called The Shakespeare Code.

That said, I will read it. I’d like to think I’m totally wrong about it – the author, Richard B. Wright, is apparently pretty well-liked. And Canadian, so that automatically earns him points for me (Canadians are cool). I’ll check it out and get back to you about it.

Written by Caroline Mincks

August 12, 2010 at 11:56 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds entertaining, but I’m a sucker for pseudo-historical fiction.

    If you wind up liking this one, Harry Turtledove did an alternate history novel called Ruled Britannia, which features Shakespeare, Marlow and others in a world that saw the victory of the Spanish Armada. Fun stuff.

    Coach J

    September 17, 2010 at 3:24 PM


Leave a Reply

