365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

312. Klingon Shakespeare. No, I’m serious.

leave a comment »

Not that I know anything about Star Trek apart from the most recent movie (which was awesome, by the way), but it seems that the hardcore fans could out-fan the nerds for Harry Potter on a good day. And that’s really saying something.

So even though I am not a Trekkie or a Trekker or whatever it is that the fans like to be called (I’m a Potterite, myself), I can appreciate the sheer level of geeky fandom necessary to create the production of selections from Shakespeare’s Hamlet and Much Ado About Nothing performed entirely in Klingon.

This level of geekery is to be praised, admired, and feared by all who witness it. It is a true feat to be that geeky. I mean, Trekkies/ers are one thing, Shakespeare nerds are another thing, but to combine the two? That, my friends, is a perfect storm of dorkishness. And I love it.

Written by Caroline Mincks

August 9, 2010 at 11:18 AM

Leave a Reply

