365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

238. My most coveted Shakespearean roles

with one comment

Have I done this before? I feel like I have. And I would check, but there are 237 other entries to skim through in order to do that and I have a wedding to plan.

I was recently asked what roles I would like to portray the most out of all the wonderful parts Shakespeare offered players all over the world. My list is as follows:

All’s Well That Ends Well: Helena
As You Like It: Either Rosalind or Celia, though a female Touchstone would be interesting
Comedy of Errors: Either of the Dromios (but sorry, I won’t play Mackers)
Love’s Labour’s Lost: Katharine
Measure for Measure: Isabella
Merchant of Venice: Nerissa
Merry Wives of Windsor: Any of the Merry Wives
Midsummer Night’s Dream: Snug the Joiner if I am allowed to copy Stacie Rearden Hall, and I’d like to tackle Titania again, but Hermia is the number one choice
Much Ado about Nothing: Beatrice
Taming of the Shrew: Biondello or Bianca
Tempest: Ariel
Twelfth Night: Viola
Two Gentlemen of Verona: Either Gentleman would be a joy
Winter’s Tale
: Hermione. Not just because I’m a Harry Potter fan.

Cymbeline: Either one of Cymbeline’s sons or Imogen
Henry IV, Part I: Hostess Quickly
Henry IV, Part II: See above
Henry V: Katharine or Fluellen
Henry VI, Part I: Joan la Pucelle
Henry VI, Part II: Queen Margaret
Henry VI, Part III: Richard III
Henry VIII: Anne Bullen (I know it’s spelled differently everywhere else, but on this website, we do what Shakespeare does)
King John: Blanche
Pericles: Thaisa
Richard II: Henry IV
Richard III: Lady Anne, Queen Margaret, or Queen Elizabeth – though Buckingham would be great fun

Antony and Cleopatra: Cleopatra
Coriolanus: Volumina
Hamlet: Horatio
Julius Caesar: Brutus. Best betrayal ever.
King Lear: Cordelia
Macbeth: Young Siward 
Othello: Emilia 
Romeo and Juliet: Juliet
Timon of Athens: Fool
Titus Andronicus: Torn between Lavinia and Tamora. Both full of so many opportunities for such different reasons…
Troilus and Cressida: Cressida

The nice thing about being a pretty regular-looking, small, semi-androgynous (read: short-haired and tomboyish) person is that I am fairly confidant in my abilities to play either gender semi-convincingly. It is handy with Shakespeare since, of course, he was a big fan of cross-dressing fun.

Written by Caroline Mincks

May 27, 2010 at 9:20 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m kind of upset that you neglected one of my favorite Shakespearean women: Lady Percy. Her scenes with Hotspur are friggin’ HOTT!!!!

    Lauren

    June 23, 2010 at 5:14 AM


Leave a Reply

