365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

192. Green eggs and Hamlet

with one comment

This made me oh-so-happy, and I can’t help sharing the joy:

I ask to be, or not to be.

That is the question, I ask of me.

This sullied life, it makes me shudder.

My uncle’s boffing dear, sweet mother.

Would I, could I, take my life?

Could I, should I, end this strife?

Should I jump out of a plane?

Or throw myself before a train?

Should I from a cliff just leap?

Could I put myself to sleep?

Shoot myself, or take some poison?

Maybe try self immolation?

To shudder of this mortal coil,

I could stab myself with a fencing foil.

Slash my wrists while in the bath?

Would it end my angst and wrath?

To sleep, to dream, now there’s the rub.

I could drop a toaster in my tub.

Would all be glad, if I were dead?

Could I perhaps kill them instead?

This line of thought takes consideration-

For I’m the king of procrastination.

Written by Caroline Mincks

April 11, 2010 at 10:33 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cracked up laughing when I found it, too. I’ m glad to see others also appreciate this humour but give credit where it’s due. The author is Tim Hnetka (from Totonto, Canada).

    Mauro Andres

    January 2, 2011 at 12:41 PM


Leave a Reply

