365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

191. Did I like “Coriolanus”?

leave a comment »

Not really. Sorry, Shakespeare. I was forced to read your one (in my opinion) real stinker, and I gotta say…not a huge fan.

I came off the All’s Well That Ends Well high (sorry about the lack of review of it – I’ll get around to it) and ended up stuck on Coriolanus for a couple of weeks in my Shakespeare class. Though the subject matter is interesting and there are some great speeches, as always, I simply could not get on board with it.

I found the play overall a little poorly structured for my taste. I don’t want to give up on it entirely, though. If anyone knows of or owns a videorecording of it, I would be thrilled and grateful to borrow it so that I could see the show performed. I feel like that would make me like it more.

I know this is sort of a bare-bones review…but that’s really all I can think of to say. The play just doesn’t stick with me, for whatever reason. For those who have read it, I am curious about your thoughts and opinions, so lay ’em on me!

Written by Caroline Mincks

April 10, 2010 at 10:31 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

