365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

180. A mission I would rather not have accepted.

leave a comment »

One of my professors challenged us to reread a book (or series, if we have the time before the end of the year) that we feel we ought to give a second chance to. Whether it was something forced down our throats in high school, something we claimed to read and never got around to, or something we think we may have unfairly judged.

I chose the Twilight series. I’m going to be honest: I actually enjoyed reading the books. A lot. I wasn’t really looking to get anything out of them, but when I read through them, they were great fun. Of course, then I started thinking about them and seeing how insanely famous they were getting, and the love went down Hate Lane pretty quickly. I started thinking about how they don’t exactly provide the best role models for girls…all that good stuff we’ve all heard fifty thousand times from critics and haters around the world.

So anyway, I am rereading them to see if I like them again this time around. I’m reserving judgment until I finish Breaking Dawn, but I can point out one thing that is bugging the ever-loving out of me: ALL THE SHAKESPEARE.

Seriously? Bella and Edward? Guys? You really want to get all Romeo and Juliet on me with your quoting and your almost-suicide contest? And come on. Werewolves imprinting on toddlers is comparable to the magic flower from A Midsummer Night’s Dream? Just because the feeling is equally powerful doesn’t make it less creepy.

I am reminded of an entry I did a while back about the movie From Hell and how, even for me, it was annoyingly heavy-handed with the Shakespeare. It proved to me that there is a such thing as too much Shakespeare…I present to you Exhibit B of that argument, the Twilight series.

Written by Caroline Mincks

March 30, 2010 at 10:44 PM

Leave a Reply

