365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

133. Watch your cartoons about incest and revenge, honey.

leave a comment »

My childhood just came rushing back at me with the force of a tidal wave.

My parents started me on Shakespeare early. They are both fans, but my mother has a particular fondness for the Bard. So when I was little, they bought me a few abridged versions of the plays and showed me the BBC Animated Tales. My favorite, which shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows me, was Hamlet.

Imagine my delight when I discovered it was on YouTube!

So here you are, a brief peek into my childhood:

Now that I look back, it’s no wonder I’m a little weird. I was watching this stuff during my formative years – it’s pretty deep and dark. But then again, it’s Hamlet. So yeah.

Also, my favorite comment on the videos:

“Hi… I’m pretty new to Shakespeare, we just read Othello in my Drama class and I loved it. I have a question – why did Hamlet tell Ophelia earlier that he didn’t love her, and then freak out at her funeral and say he did love her? Is it just a Shakespeare thing?”

Oh, where to begin, ihartrodatkins? Where to begin?

Written by Caroline Mincks

February 11, 2010 at 2:31 PM

Leave a Reply

