365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

98. O, the rug doth pull the room together…

leave a comment »

Yes, that title is in iambic pentameter, thank you very much. Even if the beats are a little wonky. I never said I was good at writing in iambic pentameter.

Anyway.

I stumbled across this article that begs the question: what if Shakespeare had written The Big Lebowski?

It wasn’t until I met Adam, my fiance, that I saw this movie. He lent it to me saying that I absolutely had to see it or I would not be complete as a human being. I’m pretty sure he was correct. I couldn’t stop laughing – I love the Coen brothers. And I love Shakespeare. So the idea of combining the two swirled in my mind in such a whirlwind of awesome that I nearly imploded from the sheer fantasticness of it all.

Fortunately, I didn’t implode, and I stayed present so that I could read the article I mentioned. A young filmmaker, Adam Bertocci, has written a script called Two Gentlemen of Lebowski…yes, I’m totally serious. Check out this comparison between the original and Bertocci’s version:

BLOND TREEHORN THUG: [holding up a bowling ball] What the f— is this?

THE DUDE: Obviously you’re not a golfer.

…is rewritten as…

BLANCHE
Villainy! Why this confounded orb, such as men use to play at ninepins; what devilry, these holes in holy trinity?

THE KNAVE
Obviously thou art not a golfer.

Have I died and gone to heaven? Possible. Very, very possible. Someone make me a white Russian and bring me my bathrobe. My life is now complete.

Written by Caroline Mincks

January 7, 2010 at 7:45 PM

Leave a Reply

