365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

88. David Tennant holds heads.

leave a comment »

Okay. We all know that anyone involved in Dr. Who isn’t exactly normal, most likely. And we all know that using a real human skull in a production of Hamlet can put ghosts to rest at least for a little while. At least, that’s how it works on Slings & Arrows. But I didn’t know that sort of thing happened in real life…but David Tennant made it happen.

That skull he was holding in the RSC production of Hamlet? Real. No, seriously. Now, I’m not a wuss. I’m willing to challenge myself for a role. But I do feel like holding a real skull might get me to squick out a little bit.

That said, I think in my will, I will bequeath my skull to a Shakespeare company to use in their productions…let some poor member of their young company freak out for a while as they deliver a soliloquy to my remains. That might be posthumously fun.

Written by Caroline Mincks

December 28, 2009 at 11:30 PM

Leave a Reply

