365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

39. Okay, so I’m a little obsessed…

with 2 comments

There is a website called ModCloth, which is an online boutique for quite literally the cutest clothes in all the land. I go on the site every day to covet clothes that I cannot afford, and my friend Alex and I have been posting pretty dresses back and forth on each other’s Facebook pages, with things like “wouldn’t this look perfect for the balcony scene?” or “THIS for the feast of the Capulets!”

We’re both a little obsessed.

But what made me particularly excited about this website was that every so often, a Shakespearean-named item shows up. Behold:

Tempest Dress – I love how this dress looks like rain pouring down, or maybe the way the sea looks during a terrible storm.

Dress Side Story – Okay, that’s not technically Shakespeare, but West Side Story was based on Romeo and Juliet, so I think it counts!

Bedroom Terrace Dress – This might be pushing the theme a little, but can’t you just see a modern Juliet wearing this on the balcony after the feast, dreaming about her Romeo?

Juliet Cape-ulet – the description speaks for itself: “Did thine heart love till now? Forswear it, sight! For thou ne’er saw true beauty till thou saw this cape so bright. This item hath been begot of beautiful design, a sash through the sides makes thine shape feminine! Thou will adore this cape from the two rows of buttons, both alike in dignity, that close the front, to fair color wethinks quite beautiful. The which if you with stylish eyes attend, will look so star-crossed lovely with a sweet dress and slipper-like shoes, that good sirs far and wide will demand wherefore thou art o’er and o’er again!”

Shakespeare’s Sister Blouse – I cannot say how much I WANT. THIS. BLOUSE. It is so pretty and I could wear it to go see Shakespeare plays and feel like I had a little secret. This shirt is my #1 Covet from ModCloth right now. If I ever have spare cash again (ha, I crack myself up), I might have to make this part of my wardrobe…

Eyedust in Nymph – in thy orisons…though I’d rather dust Titania with this than Ophelia!

Eyedust in Cleopatra – I’m sure Antony found this very sexy on her.

Shakespearean Pendant – very cool design for a necklace, which kind of has an academic feel to it, too. There used to be earrings that matched, but they must have sold out or else I missed them on the site! Sad face.

To Bead or Not to Bead Headband – kind of a hippie-chick style headband, really cute and something  I’d love to add to my headband collection.

The Sonnets Charm Bracelet – along the lines of the Shakespearean Pendant, it’s definitely an item of jewelry that would stand out from what everyone else is wearing!

Ro-Meow and Juliet Wallet – How cute is this wallet? It’s adorable and it references Shakespeare. Can’t go wrong there.

Here’s hoping they keep cranking out these incredibly cute Shakespeare-themed items for years to come…when I someday strike it rich, I know where my payday treat money is going to go!

Written by Caroline Mincks

November 8, 2009 at 3:15 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very cute how you’ve re-routed your obsession to encompass a theme!

    Mary

    November 8, 2009 at 3:22 PM

  2. Hi bard365,
    Thanks for the kind words about our site and descriptions! Our writers put a lot of thought into the names…its nice to hear it is appreciated!! Have a nice day!
    ❤ Aire
    ModCloth.com

    Aire

    November 9, 2009 at 12:03 PM


Leave a Reply

