365 Days of Shakespeare

That's right – the Bard in a year.

24. There IS a such thing as too much Shakespeare.

leave a comment »

And it can be found in the movie From Hell.

I encountered this movie recently. Not on purpose. I’m really not a fan of gore (I have an intense, nightmare-inducing phobia about sliced throats), so I spent the majority of the movie hiding under a blanket with my eyes and ears shut, humming “Bali Hai” to myself. So I didn’t really see a lot of the movie. But what I did see a lot of was Robbie Coltrane’s character quoting Shakespeare.

Now, I did step out at one point to take a phone call (read: fake a phone call so I could escape the gore without looking like a coward), so I may have missed a reference, but I counted two Hamlet quotes, a Romeo and Juliet quote, a Henry V quote, and a reference to Othello.

The movie is only about 120 minutes. I reference Shakespeare a lot myself, but I might make that many references in a weekend. Not two hours. There really is a such thing as being too heavy-handed with the Bard, and I think that might have been it.

Johnny Depp was pretty, though.

Written by Caroline Mincks

October 24, 2009 at 11:55 PM

Leave a Reply

